Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Introduction
12-01-2005, 01:09 PM,
Introduction
It strikes me that the timing of this first diary entry makes me look like somebody who is prone to making New Year's resolutions. Well ... I'm not. Honest.

I've been running sporadically for a couple of years now. I've entered and completed one race (Liverpool Half in October 2002) and have plans for another one (Liverpool Half in March 2005).

That's quite a long gap. In the meantime I've not really shown much commitment to the cause. Certainly people don't think of me as a runner. Not in the way that I think of Andy as a runner, or a QPR fan. I used to be thought of as a cyclist, in my late twenties and early thirties. And whilst I never competed on a bike, it did consume me to a degree that running hasn't yet.

Perhaps running just isn't as exciting or glamorous as cycling. Spinning through an Alpine village at Easter on your way to the summit of Galibier takes some beating. There's the gratifying whirring sound of the chain moving through the sprockets broken only by the call of 'Allez allez' from groups of skiers gathered on balconies. As you climb further up the valley there's the spiralling road beneath you and the white summits above. Even when you meet 'The Doubt' and you're testing your mental and physical limits, hanging onto a well crafted machine that sways rhythmically up the mountain-side seems to offer more dignity than being a lone lump of flesh bouncing and panting up the road. Then there's the descent. A normal person can achieve epic things on a bike.

I'm sure there are running experiences to match this somewhere. The problem is that I don't want to devote the same amount of time finding these experiences as I used to. Or maybe I just need to be more ingenious. I'm sure my missus would like a week in New York; and that living and running through that rather grand metropolis would be a novel way to reacquaint me with the place.