Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
April 2011
28-04-2011, 10:48 PM,
RE: April 2011
Sweder, what stands out from this is your emphasis on screaming quads. This is a subject close to my heart at the moment as I try and get back into my running stride. I'm no expert on anatomy and am trying to peice the whole thing together. But I have seen a physio for the first time.

Firstly I've been told that I run mainly with my right leg. My left leg seems only to be used to stop me from falling over.

But secondly, I've been told I'm far too dependent upon my quads and calves. The other main running muscles, hamstrings and glutes, are under-used. Particularly glutes as these are the biggest.

Re-engaging them is a tricky business. But seems like a 'big topic' in running circles at the moment. Indeed cadence and glute engagement could be the real issues to tackle as a runner, with footstrike abit of a red-herring.
30-04-2011, 08:55 PM, (This post was last modified: 01-05-2011, 07:33 AM by Sweder.)
(28-04-2011, 10:48 PM)glaconman Wrote: I've been told I'm far too dependent upon my quads and calves. The other main running muscles, hamstrings and glutes, are under-used. Particularly glutes as these are the biggest.

Happy birthday Glaconman. I hope you managed to mark it with either a plod or some of that damned fine ale Smile

Oddly enough (or perhaps not) one of the last times I saw a physio it was for hamstring trouble. She assured me this was caused by running downhill on weak quads. I saw a healer (a lady who worked closely with Moyleman through his darkest days). She also diagnosed weak quads, putting me on a vitamin B complex regimen to help beef them up. It helped, though I still occasionally get twinges in my right hamstring and my right calf. Perhaps like you I unwittingly favour a side. I've heard it's often the 'fitter' side that suffers most as it does most of the work, dragging the less effective side along.