Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
May 2017
02-05-2017, 12:10 PM,
May 2017
Another week and another fell race. They will come thick and fast now until the dark side of Autumn.

This time the Coiners fell race in the Calder Valley.

http://www.cvfr.co.uk/races/coiners/

From Mytholmroyd up to Stoodley Pike and back around the bottom of Cragg Vale to deliver a circuitous route back. The Coiners is fascinating local history.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cragg_Vale_Coiners

I set-off at a sensible pace. But as the ascent moved onto open moorland began to press and started passing runners. The descent, however, was a series of long traverses interspersed with descents.

One-by-one they all came back past me as I drifted into the arena of the unwell. Stumbling through deep, stagnant peat bogs and rocky outcrops like a wounded fugitive.

An early-season warning. Family were slightly embarrassed by the spectacle and my inability to pace.

Like I've never done this before. Must try and avoid this. Patience is the key.
08-05-2017, 12:28 PM,
RE: May 2017
Another couple of races to make 3 in a week. I seem to be back to the 'racing yourself fit' school of running.

First up the Lothersdale fell race. Nestling in one of the a hidden creases of the South Pennines. A largely runnable affair minus the rough pack-horse trail in the first few hundred metres. Up to the trig and back. No dramas. And a great way to spend a Wednesday evening.

http://www.fellrunner.org.uk/races.php?id=5102

Then on Sunday the first Bofra of the season at Sedbergh in The Howgills. We were staying in Bowland so a short drive upto this beautiful spot seemed the obvious thing to do.