Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ragnar Relay - White Cliffs
26-09-2017, 10:11 AM, (This post was last modified: 26-09-2017, 04:10 PM by Seafront Plodder.)
Ragnar Relay - White Cliffs
As some here will know, for the last two years I have been a support driver for The Brighton Marathon, a race which is now the second largest marathon in the UK after err…that other one.

I volunteer for a few reasons. As a seasoned marathon man of 3 it is good to be back amongst the buzz and ralgex smell without having to do any training; I get to drive a big truck the wrong way around the City roads, and of course I give something back and get an insight into the sheer logistical horror that is any big city race involving many road closures.

The organisation behind the race is Grounded Events Ltd. So when they contacted me to ask whether I wanted to volunteer to help at their next venture, well I was interested.

Ragnar Relay. What? I hear you ask. Well clearly you Googling it is far easier than me explaining here, but essentially it’s a relay race run overnight where teams of 10 take it in turns to run a course while his/her team mates in a minibus (or a couple of cars) drive on to a pre-determined exchange point to await their team mate’s arrival before the next runner goes. It’s big in the US but over here this was the inaugural event. 177 miles from Maidstone to Brighton closely following the coast.

http://live-grounded-events.antlabcms.co.uk/ragnar-relay-series 

I was part of Team 3 of 4 responsible for setting up 45 miles of the route – and of course, collecting it all up again after the last runner had gone through.

Here’s the course.   http://shared.galileo-app.com/59a578286a01e250b9d272dd.html

The Grounded Events Team had pre-loaded a Luton van with everything that we needed and we picked it up on Friday afternoon for the drive to Maidstone where we had a final briefing before staying in a local hotel.