Hello!
22-10-2003, 12:02 PM,
Hello!
Have just found this website through a link from the Runners' World site (where I am a frequent poster!)

I haven't read all of your diary entries yet, Andy, but I've really enjoyed what I've read so far. Your style is witty, self-deprecating and enjoyable. I was especially interested in your London Marathon diary as I'm hoping to run in this next year if the ballot decrees it shall be so ...

A bit about me - I've been running for about 18 months now, and have just started to get into racing a bit this year. I ran Race for Life in 2002 which really took me from an occasional runner to getting pretty serious about it, and ran Race for Life again this year (same course, and I knocked almost 3 minutes off last year's time and came 7th out of more than 3,000 entrants). I did a 10K the following week over the same course again, then the Nike 10K in September, followed by the Windsor half marathon in late September (1:51:05).

At the moment I'm concentrating on a period of base training, aiming to increase my mileage and pace whilst keeping my heart rate aerobic - this currently means that I'm doing 10+ minute miles and walking up hills a lot! The theory is that if I keep at it I'll be able to run further and faster at the same heart rate, and conserve more energy which over marathon distance should make me more efficient.

I live in north London (pretty much where it meets Hertfordshire) and we have a lot of hills, which makes keeping the heart rate down quite tricky! I'm an evening runner, preferring to get out there when I get home from work rather than dragging my reluctant body screaming from beneath the duvet at ungodly hours of the morning.

In two years I've gone from 10 minutes on the treadmill twice a week to pounding the pavements for 40 minutes or so a day, and I can bore for England on the subject of running if I get half a chance!!
22-10-2003, 09:37 PM,
Hello!